International League Against Epilepsy

Elections Committee

2021 Annual Report

Members

Emilio Perucca (Italy), chair Nico Moshé (USA) Birinus Adikaibe (Nigeria) Jacqueline French (USA) Hassan Hosny (Egypt) Makiko Osawa (Japan) T. Peter Wolf (Denmark) Elza Marcia Yacubian (Brazil)

Highlights

- 1) Election procedures were completed in 2021 with the election of Regional Boards Members
- 2) There was broad participation from ILAE Chapters at all stages of the election process
- Details of each election stage, including the complete list of candidates and number of votes received has been posted on the ILAE website (https://www.ilae.org/files/dmfile/Results-from-Each-Stage-of-the-Elections.pdf)

Election of Regional Officers – Final Results

The Elections Committee is pleased to announce that the ILAE regional elections have been completed. The elected officers of the six Regional Boards for the 2021-2025 term are the following:

LATIN AMERICA		
Mario Arturo	Alonso Vanegas	(Mexico), Chair
Fernando	Cendes	(Brazil)
Walter Horatio	Silva	(Argentina)
Loreto	Rios-Pohl	(Chile)
Luis Carlos	Mayor Romero	(Colombia)
ASIA/OCEANIA		
John	Dunne	(Australia), Chair

Kheng Seang	Lim	(Malaysia)
Wei Ping	Liao	(China)
Kesuke	Kawai	(Japan)
Seung Bong	Hong	(South Korea)
AFRICA		
Jo	Wilmshurst	(South Africa), Chair
Youssoufa	Maiga	(Mali)
Augustina	Charway-Felli	(Ghana)
Constant Kodjo	Adjien	(Benin)
Dominique	Enyama	(Cameroon)
EUROPE		
Matthew	Walker	United Kingdom), Chair
Nicola	Specchio	(Italy)
Cecilie	Johannessen Landmark	(Norway)
Alexis	Arzimanoglou	(France)
Silvio	Basic	(Croatia)
Vasilios	Kimsikidis	(Greece)
EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN		
Ghaieb	Al Jandeel	(Iraq), Chair
Fatema	Abdullah	(Bahrain)
Raidah Saleem	Al-Baradie	(Saudi Arabia)
Nirmeen	Kishk	(Egypt)
Reda	Ouazzani	(Morocco)
NORTH AMERICA		

Jaideep	Kapur	(USA), Chair
Michele	Lashley	Caribbean
Dang	Nguyen	Canada
Judy	Tapper	Caribbean
Tim	Welty	USA

The membership of each Regional Board will also include the Past Chair and will be completed with the appointment of two additional officers by the President-elect.

The ILAE election process is now complete. Details of election result at all stages of the process can be found at https://www.ilae.org/files/dmfile/Results-from-Each-Stage-of-the-Elections.pdf

The Elections Committee congratulates all the elected officers and wishes them a successful service for the next 4 years. We would also like to thank the many candidates that participated in each phase of the election for their commitment and willingness to serve. Mr. Gus Egan is gratefully acknowledged for his very efficient assistance throughout the election process.

Submitted by Emilio Perucca