INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE AGAINST EPILEPSY



342 North Main Street, West Hartford, CT 06117-2507, USA Tel: +1 860 586 7547 Fax: +1 860 586 7550 E-mail: info@ilae.org Web site: www.ilae.org

Copenhagen, March 27, 2013

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

President

Solomon L. Moshé New York, USA

Secretary-General

Samuel Wiebe Calgary, AB, Canada

Treasurer

Emilio Perucca Pavia, Italy

Past President

Peter Wolf Copenhagen, Denmark

1st Vice President

Tatsuya Tanaka Asahikawa, Japan

2nd Vice President

Michel Baulac Paris, France

3rd Vice President

Marco T. Medina Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Editor-in Chief, Epilepsia

Philip A. Schwartzkroin Davis, CA, USA

Editor-in Chief, Epilepsia

Simon Shorvon London, England, UK

Information Officer

Edward H. Bertram, III Charlottesville, VA, USA

IBE, President (Ex-Officio)

Mike Glynn Dublin, Ireland

IBE, Secretary-General (Ex-Officio)

Carlos Acevedo Santiago, Chile

IBE, Treasurer (Ex-Officio)

Grace Tan Singapore

Announcement

The election of the members of the Commission on European Affairs for the period 2013 – 2017 is finished.

Commission on Eastern Mediterranean Affairs (CEMA)

11 of 12 chapters in the region participated in the voting with the following results:

Raidah Al Baradie	7
Taoufik Alsaadi	7
Amina Gargouri	6
Wassim Nasreddine	5
Ahmad Khalifa	5
Jihad Inshasi	4
Sonia Khan	4
Boulenouar Mesraoua	2
Abdulaziz Al Semari	2
Basim Uthman	2

Thus, whereas the first three seats were unequivocal, there was a draw regarding the fourth seat between two candidates. According to Article X.1 of the By-Laws in this case the oldest candidate in age prevails. The older of the two candidates is Dr. Khalifa who was thus elected. All four elected candidates have accepted their election and will work together with Chairperson Dr. Hassan Hosny.

In the next step, the incoming President, Dr. Emilio Perucca, in consultation with the Executive Committee, will appoint up to two additional CEMA members. Then the Commission for the term 2013-2017 will be complete.

On behalf of the Election Committee I congratulate the elected Commission members and thank all candidates for their willingness to serve and the Chapters in the region for good participation in the elections.

Chair

Election Committee